Directorate Of Medical Education

Department of Medical Education (DME) is an integral part of any Medical College / University. Its role is important to meet the global standards for quality improvement of Medical Education. It has to achieve its objectives through trilogy of undergraduates /Basic Medical Education (BME) Postgraduate Medical Education (PME) and Continuing Professional Development (CPD) To meet these international standards Department of Medical Education was established in Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Medical University (SMBBMU) Larkana. Professor Riaz Ahmed shaikh was first Incharge of DME from 19.12.2013 to 8.1.2014, followed by Professor Aftab Hussain Shah from 18.01.2014 to 18.02.2015. DME remained practically inactive upto this period. Then it was the vision and efforts of Honorable Vice Chancellor Professor Ghulam Asghar Channa, who revitalized the DME. In this regard he gave the additional Charge to Professor Abdul Hamid Shaikh as Director Department of Medical Education from 18.02.2015. Honorable Vice Chancellor, in the first phase, directed DME to get SMBBMU accredited by PM&DC; for award of CME/CDE Credit Hours. Accreditation by PM&DC; in this regard was given vide Registration No: 15/CME/PM&DC; (photocopy enclosed) Later on six Member CME/DME committee was constituted under chairmanship of Director DME on 20.3.2015. Dr. Aisha Aziz was also given an additional Charge of Deputy Director Medical Education from 15.02.2016 Professor Kaleemullah Thaheem, Ex Professor and Chairman DME, Al Tibri Medical College Karachi was also inducted in DME as adjunct faculty on 15.3.2016
Prof. Abdul Hameed Shaikh Director

Contact Information:

Administration Block, Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Medical University, Larkana, Sindh, Pakistan

© 2017 Shaheed Mohtarama Benazir Bhutto Medical University. All rights reserved.